“Say Yes to the Dress” – Can I say … No?

So we made a weekend out of it, going up to NYC and trying out different dress shops and dresses, while we ate and played. And boy… it was fun!

Our first stop was, of course, Kleinfeld, legendary place made more popular by the TV show on TLC “Say Yes to the Dress.” We go in there, it looks a lot smaller in real life than it does on TV, but that was expected. Everything in the store is subject to taping and using on the show. They have a huuuge sign that WARNS you about it in the doorway of the store.

We walk in, get our consultant for our appointment, and soon enough we see Randi, and I must say, his eyebrows are way perfect, and very very arched. Anyhow, he then analyzes my bone structure, and gives a break down what I will look good in and not it. And I must say, he is really really really good at his job.

“You are so tiny, you can never drown yourself in a ball gown, you’ll look overwhelmed and you’ll look like a child. You have a small waist, so definitely don’t do A-line, because it just covers your figure, waist down. You neck bones… ” etc etc etc… makes this whole analysis, most of the stuff we all knew… but when he put it together with the “science” of the dresses… somehow it was enlightening. And VERY helpful for our later dress hunt endeavors.

So he brought in 4 dresses. Well, first he chose one dress, with lots of confidence. Then he brought in 3 more when he saw I wasn’t too eager. At the end, I just didn’t “feel” it. (Maybe I’m just not the type to “feel” it?! I definitely am not the type that bawls and cries when I finally “say yes to the dress”….) Anyhow, I think Randi could tell I wasn’t too sold on any of them… So eventually he just lurked away to another bride, and in the distance, every so often, we would hear cheering, and sobbing, and applause… because some other woman has just “Said Yes to the Dress”.

Hmm, I wonder if people who say NO to all dresses still get to be on the show? hahahah.

Anyhow, that was our fun little Kleinfeld NYC trip. 🙂

I didn’t find my dress there! But I did find it shortly after! 🙂

(PS. My girlfriends did try to get me to try their $50,000 dress… but they said no… haha)

Leave a Reply

