The Ultimate First Date

Michigan surgeon dude, Brian, is scheduled to arrive in Philadelphia Airport at 3:30pm on Friday. He’s supposed to fly out at 1pm from Detroit. But his flight is delayed. It’s 2:30pm, and he still hasn’t left Detroit yet. Not sure if he’s going to make it.

I get home at around 4:30pm, since he said he should still be able to come pick me up between 5:30pm/6pm. I jump in the shower and get ready. I start doing some work on my laptop as I try to call him. It goes straight to voicemail. It’s now 5pm. He must be still in the air.

He wouldn’t tell me where he was taking me, only that reservations were at 6:30pm and that “You would want to wear a dress”. I have no way to cancel or postpone our reservations. He’s nowhere to be reached. I suddenly had a really sad image of me, sitting on my couch, all dressed up, and it’s nightfall and 8pm, and still waiting for him. Yikes.

I hadn’t put on my dress yet. Somehow, I feel that will avoid me jinxing myself. He texts me at 5:30pm: “ETA 10min.” What?!?!

How did he get to Center City so soon?? It’s at least a 20 min ride by train or cab, especially during rush hour on a Friday. Regardless, I had no time to ask questions. I needed to hurry up and change!

10 minutes later, and he shows up at my apartment door. I go to open the door and I see a huuge bouquet of flowers! I was so flustered that I didn’t know what to say, so I exclaimed, “Wow! You pack light!” (Seeing that he only had a backpack for the weekend.) He smiled at me and said, “I’m happy to see you, too.” I jump into his arms and give him a big hug.

After vasing the flowers, we needed to leave asap, since it’s now 6pm and we need to get there by 6:30pm. He still won’t tell me where, but insists that we need to take a cab. I assure him that if he gave me the exact address, we might be able to walk there. He says no. “Penns Landing, Moshulu.” He tells the cab driver. “Ha!” I said, “I know where that is! Aw, that’s nice, I have only been there for parties, but never for a dinner!” He smiles and nods as we chat about his flight coming over.

We get off the cab and I start walking toward Moshulu (a stationary large pirate ship that is a restaurant). He calls me over and says, “Wait, which ship do you want to go to? Let’s go on one that moves,” as he points to the Spirit of Philadelphia, a dinner/moonlight cruise boat. “Wait, you just changed your mind?” I ask. He just laughs. He had already bought tickets for the dinner cruise for the Spirit of Philadelphia. Since Moshulu was next to Spirit, he just told the cab driver Moshulu as a decoy. His reason for choosing the Spirit of Philadelphia?

Since we didn’t talk until later in the reception at the wedding, we didn’t really have any pictures. And we didn’t get a chance to dance at the wedding either. And since he knows that I like Philadelphia, he thought, Spirit of Philadelphia would be perfect, because they: 1. Take professional photographs for each party before you board the boat, 2. There’s dancing on the cruise, 3. It goes around Philadelphia from sunset till night, so we could see the entire skyline throughout the 3 hour ride.

We have an amazing time. For our photo, he insists that he dip me, like in dancing. I am mortified, since there is a long line of people waiting to have their photo taken. He keeps insisting and I didn’t want to hold up the line, so I finally agree. Around 9pm, while still on the cruise, the photographer walks over with a photo in hand. She tells us that they loved the photo so much and it was so beautiful that they are giving it to us free of charge and on the house. In addition, they are considering using it in their marketing campaigns. Wow. I guess his dipping suggestion was a good one!

After dinner, we go to Continental to meet up with some of my friends in Philly, giving him a chance to meet the people who are important to me in my daily life. He talks to all of them easily and everyone really likes him.

It’s now late, and he’s getting ready to go over to his friend’s house, which is where he’s staying. He had to come up to pick up his backpack though. So we sat on my couch and chatted for a bit before he left. He asks me, “So… what’s your favorite fairytale?”

I assume this is one of his strange questions with analysis involved, so I shrugged and said, “I don’t know… maybe Sleeping Beauty?” He then says, “Do you want to know mine? I’ll tell you mine, but you have to promise not to interrupt while I’m telling you the story.” I nod. He starts to sing.

He starts singing this Chinese song named “Fairytale (童話)”. It’s a song that sings about a love story between a boy and a girl. And how the girl cries and says that all fairytales are lies and she doesn’t believe in them anymore. And then the boy sings that he’s willing to be her prince charming and to protect her forever. And that they will write their fairytale love story together, and write their happy ending.

I wanted to laugh, but it was so sweet. But it was so funny. Chinese is his second language, though being Taiwanese, he was born and raised in Michigan all this life. So with his accented Chinese and somewhat singing voice, he finally managed to sing through the ENTIRE song. He ends up serenading me at the end of our first date! It’s almost ridiculous sounding!   Before heading to his friend’s house for the night, he gives me a quick kiss and tells me that he’ll see me tomorrow at 11am for brunch.

Wow! This had to have gone down in history as the most epic first date ever!

🙂 Stay tuned for Saturday, our second date!

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate First Date

  1. That is a beautiful picture! I’m anxiously awaiting Saturday’s account. This guy sounds amazing! I’m loving how he referred to your upset about guys promising things and then bailing out on them. Wonderful! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Saturday-Sunday – the followup dates « The Adventures of a Third Culture Kid

  3. Pingback: I got engaged! :) « The Adventures of a Third Culture Kid

Leave a Reply

