“Can I buy you a drink?”

What exactly does that line entail?

Does it mean “Hi, can I give you a drink in exchange for a conversation? in exchange for 10 minutes of your time? what’s the cost to get you to talk to me?”

Or does is it just an ice breaker line? or a compliment line?

Or maybe it’s a hidden agenda/conspiracy to get you buzzed and drunk?

Regardless, now in our modern-day social scene, this phrase has a clear connotation that both the guy and the girl understands. It means: I want to talk to you because I find you attractive/desirable.

It’s acceptable to use this phrase as the first words that you say to a complete stranger. It no longer has to be “Hi, how are you? My name is ________. What is your name? Are you thirsty? Would you like something to drink? (or Do you need something to drink?) Can I get something for you?”

Nope. No longer necessary. Let’s just cut to the chase: “Can I buy you a drink?”

Why though? How does this constitute as a “pick up line” or an ice breaker line in our modern day society? (mostly talking about the East Coast. Not sure if this is also the case in the Midwest, South and West Coast.)

Leave a Reply

