I find strength in my work

Some people are like birds that can’t be cooped up. They need to fly free every once in awhile. Some people are big dreamers, and sometimes they need to daydream up a storm and let themselves go. Then after, they return, rejuvenated and refreshed. Ready to tackle their work.

But for me, I thrive in my work. I feel empowered and alive. I feel independent and capable. It feels like the only place I am in control. All my meetings, all my appointments, conferences, lectures, talks, teachings. All these things I can manage and control, and most importantly, I can decide when to deliver and HOW to deliver. Everything can happen in my way and at my time.

Now on relationships. I’m dead.

There are no appointments, no planner, no scheduling. I can’t predict, I can’t control, I can’t even resolve it sometimes. I feel scared because of all the parameters and dozens of degrees of freedom.

I’m not like a bird, where I need to fly freely. Well, I need to be free. Free to do my work and my schedules and my socials and my parties. But I don’t understand the people who just need to be free-spirited and free of schedules and work.

I thrive in my work. I feel great. I feel refreshed after a good, productive day of work. I feel energized, because I feel that I just accomplished something, that I just moved something forward, that I just changed the world, even if it’s on a microscopic scale. It still means the world to me.

Leave a Reply

