Comfort in a drawer

Yesterday, after driving back from Napa Valley, and after constantly talking to 15 members of my extended family, as I dealt with chaos in Philly through phone and email, at the same time juggling phone calls and making reservations to wineries and wine tours for my family… I needed some alone time and a bit of a break. So I retreated to my hotel room, as my family went out for yet another loud, fun, crazy dinner. (They were bringing food back for me. No worries, I’m not starving…)

So I went into the room. And after a long day of physical stress (traveling and phone/email chaos and gathering 15 family members to drive and stop and drive and stop again) as well as the emotional stress (disagreements within the family about planning, stress all the way from Philly as I appease that, and the weird anger/sadness from the breakup) I was drained and exhausted. I needed a break.

I came back into the room. Started to blog (yes, all those 4 entries that appeared at once: Ice Cream Family Time, Opening Myself Again, His iPod music, Cheating Father or Cheating Boyfriend) But before I even started, I started crying. I just couldn’t stop. For whatever reason, I pulled open the drawer at the desk that I was sitting at. And as many people know, there is often a Bible stashed somewhere in a hotel room, either in the drawer next to your bed or the drawer next to the writing desk. I usually flip the Bible to a certain passage or chapter which I’m looking for. But for whatever reason, I opened the front cover (I never do that). And in the front, there was a list of passages.

The Way of Salvation: John 14:6, Acts 16:31, Romans 10:9

Comfort in time of loneliness: Psalm 23, Isaiah 41:10, Hebrews 13:5, 6

Comfort in time of sorrow: 2 cor 1:3-5, Romans 8:26-28

… (and 9 more topics after that)

I figured if I’m crying, I’ll look up the verses for loneliness and sorrow. And my tears of sorrow turned to tears of comfort and relief.

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

Hebrews 13:5-6 “For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.’ So we may boldly say: ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?'”

Romans 8:26 “The Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”

Leave a Reply

