Blessed be the Name

12:07pm

This Sunday, we sang the very familiar song “Blessed Be the Name”.

And awhile ago, someone had forwarded me the lyrics of the entire song, after they had found out what I had gone through. And I really appreciated it. But on Sunday, as I was singing this song on stage, I realized a bit deeper how it really does apply quite accurately to me.

“When the darkness closes in, Lord, still I will say: Blessed be the Name of the Lord, Blessed be Your Name!”

I realize that when I was at my darkest moments, its really hard to still praise God and still say “Blessed be Your Name”. Its hard to still look up at Him when down here my life is spiraling out of control. But I realized that’s what my pastor/Sunday school teacher was trying to tell me. “Stop focusing on yourself or on the relationship. Focus on God. Focus on His character and who He is.”

And then the bridge of the song: “You give and take away, You give and take away. My heart will choose to say, Lord, Blessed be Your name!”

God does give and take away. And regardless what the result is and when it happens, I need to be able to still sing at the top of my lungs “Lord, blessed be Your name!”

🙂

One thought on “Blessed be the Name

Leave a Reply

