We were meant to live for so much more

On my way to a friend’s farewell party, I was listening to Switchfoot on the car. And I saw loving couples walking about. And it reminded me of how me and my old boyfriend used to walk hand in hand and arms around each other. It started making me sad. And then suddenly my attention was drawn to the lyrics of the Switchfoot song. And I remember what my Pastor said, he said that at this time, I need to focus on God, not focus on myself  or focus on the broken relationship. I thank the Holy Spirit for redirecting my attention immediately to God and the lyrics, as opposed to allowing me to wallow in sadness as I watch other lovers and couples.

I think the reason why people are so hurt and it takes a long time to heal may be because people don’t have a God to focus on. And all they can think about is themselves, the ex, and the relationship and such. I think I realize why I’m healing a bit faster. Because not only is God helping me, and that there are tons of prayers from my friends and family, at the same time, when the worst part hit (the first few days) I was encouraged by my teacher to focus on God, and stop looking at the things on earth and myself.

I looked more into the Switchfoot lyrics for “Meant to Live”. And I realized: I’m meant to live for so much more, but somewhere, I’ve lost myself. And I really really want more, much more than this world has to offer. I really want what God has to offer me. I think my eyes have only been half opened. I pray that God will open my eyes and see Him, so that I’m not seeing the things in this world. “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” Col 3:2

Dreaming about Providence
And whether mice or men have second tries
Maybe we’ve been livin with our eyes half open
Maybe we’re bent and broken, broken

We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than this world’s got to offer
We want more than the wars of our fathers
And everything inside screams for second life

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?

We were meant to live for so much more
Have we lost ourselves?

One thought on “We were meant to live for so much more

Leave a comment